Run for Your Life

I should have gone home;

I should have kept on walking,

When I saw your shadow fall across mine;

I should have kept on keeping on,

No, I should have turned and run,

Away, perhaps,

Or towards the beach,

I should have ran for the sand and the surf and the velvet wet and the cold,

And kept on running,

Until I ran myself right off that damn island,

Until I reached the far shore;

Until I was as far away from you

As far could possibly be,

And then further still;

I should have ran until my legs gave out,

And my lungs caved in,

Ran until there was no more runnin’ left in me,

Until there was no you;

Just me,

And the cold, capricious sea.

Published by

caitlincacciatore

A poet driven by the quill, a dreamer of impossible dreams, a lover of that which the world has deemed unlovable. We're all stories in the end. This is mine.

Leave a Reply

