Interview with the Author

Interviewer (I): Today, we welcome the author of Kingdom Come, a space opera due to be released sometime in 2018. I will be interviewing Caitlin Cacciatore, AKA myself, using several questions found at this brilliant site. I will be using a randomizer to keep things fair.

 

Caitlin Cacciatore (CC): It is an absolute pleasure to be here. Shall we begin?

 

I: Yes, of course. The very first question is: What was your hardest scene to write?

 

CC: That is a tough question. I think the toughest scene I’ve written so far, without giving away too many spoilers, is the one where a future version of Zephyr goes back in time to warn Dareh that the war between Mars and Neptune has reached its breaking point and is about to spill onto neutral ground. That was a tragic scene to write. I really deeply care about my characters, and it broke my heart to have Zephyr break Dareh’s.

 

I: Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

 

CC: I think anyone can be a writer, if they set their mind to it. Not all stories need to be emotional in order to pack a huge impact. Sometimes novels and poems with muted emotions are even more powerful than their more emotional counterparts.

 

I: Naturally, I agree. Tell me, as a writer, what would you pick as your spirit animal/avatar?

 

CC: Hmmm… I do believe that I would choose a mythical beast like a griffin or a phoenix. Perhaps a siren. Definitely a siren, come to think of it.

 

I: How many published and half-finished books do you have?

 

CC: Too many to count! I wrote this one epic… We Sing of Shattered Skies. I was so enamored of this story that I took one of its elements and revitalized it as the premise of Kingdom Come. The original ended up being more than a thousand pages long, or about 350,000 words. So when I say epic, I mean it was epic.

 

I: Last question. Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book?

 

CC: I am still deciding. I do believe that I might stick with some motifs throughout all of the books I plan to write. For example, I might sneakily make sure that all my future character’s names begin with the same four letters as the four main characters in Kingdom Come. Namely, R for Resheph, D for Dareh, W for Wren, and Z for Zephyr.

 

 

Published by

caitlincacciatore

A poet driven by the quill, a dreamer of impossible dreams, a lover of that which the world has deemed unlovable. We're all stories in the end. This is mine.

One thought on “Interview with the Author”

Leave a Reply

