Interview with the Author: Part 3

Interviewer (I): Hello, all. Today, we’ll be interviewing Caitlin Cacciatore again on the projects she’s working on, and hopefully we’ll learn a little bit about the author as well.

 

Caitlin Cacciatore (CC): Ah, I see. Should I begin, or should you?

 

I: I do believe we’ve already started.

 

CC: Go ahead, then. Ask me anything.

 

I: So, Miss Cacciatore, what are you writing these days?

 

CC: Mostly poetry, to be honest. I find poetry wherever I go – case in point, just yesterday morning, I was walking my dog when I found an apple looking lonely by the side of the road. I went home and wrote a poem about it.

 

I: Let’s change characters for a moment. CC’s mother (M) has kindly agreed to interview her for part of this post.

 

CC: Brilliant.

 

M: What do you think is your worst quality?

 

CC: I believe my worst quality is my inability to let go of the past.

 

M: Fascinating. Tell me what you are interested in doing in the future.

 

CC: Well, I plan to keep writing. I also have a mission – to code empathy into Artificial Intelligence by combining deep learning with advances in neuroscience and quantum computing. I believe that this goal is vital in light of the upcoming Singularity.

 

M: I agree. What is your favorite book?

 

CC: The Picture of Dorian Grey moved me.

 

M: Why?

 

CC: I felt I could relate to Dorian’s quest for immortality. Though I know it ended badly for him, I do believe that my moral compass would protect me to a greater degree if I were to live beyond the average human lifespan.

 

M: Hmm. Let’s move on to education. What is the one subject everyone should study in school and why?

 

CC: I think that  the study of Artificial Intelligence should be essential to any university curriculum. I believe that it will be a huge part of our lives in the future, and that everyone should be well-informed about its potential dangers, advances, and ethical dilemmas.

 

M: Explain your philosophy of life in three sentences.

 

CC: Life doesn’t last, but it’s beautiful while it does. I fiercely believe in having a purpose, a mission, a goal in this life, in making a difference and living as boldly and as wildly and as audaciously as possible. Also – never, never give up, but do know when to lay down your arms and make your separate peace with the war you are waging, whatever that might be.

 

M: Well, I hope you’ve all learned a little bit about Miss Cacciatore through this interview. We’re just about finished.

 

CC: Yes, indeed. Thank you for tuning in. And thank you, mum, for interviewing me.

 

M: Anytime, love. Want to finish with something poetic?

 

CC: Isn’t the question mark at the end of this sentence poetry enough?

 

See also:

Interview with the Author: Part One

 

Interview with the Author: Part Two

 

Leave a Reply

